Issue:
How to reset two factor authentication (2FA) for a WithSecure Business Account (Elements, Partner Portal, eService Portal) user account.
Example scenarios:
- User has a new mobile device and wants to move or transfer the authenticator to the new device
- Device that had the multi factor authentication (MFA) application broke or has been lost
Resolution:
If you still have access to the old authenticator device, you can move the authenticator to a new device by logging in with the existing authenticator to the Elements portal, where you can remove the old authenticator and add a new one:
- Log in to the Elements portal: https://elements.withsecure.com
- Click on the user icon in the top-right corner
- Go to My settings
- Click on the Change button on the right side of the Multi-factor Authentication enabled text
- Log in with your existing authenticator codes
- Click on the Remove button on the right side of the Google authenticator or similar text
- Confirm the removal by authenticating again with your username, password and authenticator code
Once the existing authenticator has been removed, simply click on the add button to add your new authenticator.
Note: Partner Portal and eService Portal users can also log in to the Elements portal and change the MFA settings.
If you do not have access to the old device, to reset the MFA, ask another administrator to delete your user account and then they can create a new administrator account for you. When the account is re-created, you will get a new Welcome email that includes a temporary password which you can use to log in to the account and then set up a new password and configure MFA.
If you do not have another administrator on the company account and you have a Partner Managed subscription, you should contact your partner and they can delete the user account.
To delete the user account, another administrator can follow these steps:
- Log in to the Elements Security Center
- Navigate to Management > Organization Settings > Security Administrators
- Click on the user you want to delete
- Click Delete
- Confirm the deletion
NOTE: If you are a WithSecure partner with access to the Partner Portal or a WithSecure customer with access to the eService Portal using the same user account, you need to contact Customer Care to have the account removed.
If you're the only administrator on the Elements account, or the other administrators do not have necessary access rights to create new administrator user accounts, contact WithSecure Customer Care for further assistance.
Article no: 000013157